About us

Rila. Die Genussentdecker.®

Rila. Die Genussentdecker.®

The roots of the RILA corporate group go back to the year 1969. That was when Ursula and Helmut Richter laid the cornerstone for the company. Driven by their entrepreneurial spirit and commitment they created a strong player on the retail landscape.

They started by restricting their activities to classic import and sale of Mediterranean specialities. As globalisation advanced they saw the opportunity and necessity to establish their own production locations and use the newest pioneering technologies.

The company, still 100% family owned, is led today by managing partners Helmut Richter and his son Bernd Richter. Their focus is to create a reliable corporate culture that will stand the test of time, a culture where customer-focused action and short decision-making pathways are a top priority and an obligation for more than 300 qualified employees.

Roughly 30% of all products offered by RILA are produced at the company's own production locations in Germany, Greece and Chile. Seamless controlling, from cultivation to production to filling and retail packaging, ensures our products fulfil the highest quality requirements. Subsidiary companies Jürgen Langbein GmbH, Menzi GmbH, Rila Hellas EPE and the RILA logistics centre in Stemwede-Levern are certified in accordance with the most up to date IFS standards and under the EC Eco Ordinance.
 

We are members of FMIG e.V. -
a network that encompasses over 1,750 German food manufacturers.

Benchmarks in company history

1969 Founding of Helmut Richter, Internationale Transporte und Spedition

1975 Founding of Rila Feinkost-Importe GmbH & Co. KG

1993 Founding of international subsidiary Rila Hellas EPE in Filiatra/Greece

1996 Founding of international subsidiary Alimentos Finos Rila Chile Limitada, Arica/Chile

1998 Acquisition of Jürgen Langbein GmbH in Kaltenkirchen

2001 Foundation stone laid for the new logistic centre

2003 Commissioning of the new logistic centre

2007 Opening of the “Rila erleben” centre

2011 Opening of the “Hollenmühle” caravan camping area

2015 Expansion of the logistics centre

2018 Publication of the Rila “Fernkost” imported foods study

2018 Acquisition of Menzi GmbH in Versmold

Über uns

Rila. Die Genussentdecker.®

Rila. Die Genussentdecker.®

Die Wurzeln der heute weltweit vernetzten RILA – Unternehmensgruppe gehen zurück auf das Jahr 1969. Mit festem unternehmerischen Willen und großem Engagement legten Ursula und Helmut Richter den Grundstein für das heute in der Handelslandschaft nicht mehr wegzudenkende Unternehmen.



Beschränkten sich die Handelsaktivitäten zunächst auf den klassischen Import und den Vertrieb mediterraner Spezialitäten, so erkannte man im Rahmen der fortschreitenden Globalisierung die Chance und Notwendigkeit des Aufbaus eigener Produktionsstandorte und den Einsatz neuester zukunftsweisender Technologien.



Das zu 100 % im Besitz der Familie befindliche Unternehmen wird heute von den geschäftsführenden Gesellschaftern Helmut Richter und seinem Sohn Bernd Richter geleitet. Damit setzt man auch in Zukunft auf eine verlässliche Unternehmenskultur, in der kundenorientiertes Handeln und schnelle Entscheidungswege oberste Priorität haben und der sich ca. 300 qualifizierte Mitarbeiter verpflichtet fühlen.



An eigenen Produktionsstandorten in Deutschland, Griechenland und Chile werden rd. 30 % aller von RILA angebotenen Produkte hergestellt. Durch die nahtlose Kontrolle vom Anbau über die Produktion bis hin zur Abfüllung in handelsübliche Verpackungen wird die Umsetzung höchster Qualitätsanforderungen sichergestellt. Die Tochterbetriebe Jürgen Langbein, Menzi und Rila Hellas sowie das RILA Logistikzentrum in Stemwede-Levern sind daher nach dem aktuellsten IFS-Standard und entsprechend der EG-Öko-Verordnung zertifiziert.



Wir sind Mitglied der FMIG e.V. -
ein Netzwerk mit Anbindung an über 1.750 deutsche Lebensmittelhersteller.



 

Die wichtigsten Eckdaten der Entwicklung

1969 Gründung der Firma Helmut Richter, Internationale Transporte und Spedition

1975 Gründung der Rila Feinkost-Importe GmbH & Co. KG  

1993 Gründung der Auslandstochter Rila Hellas EPE in Filiatra/Griechenland

1996 Gründung der Auslandstochter Alimentos Finos Rila Chile Limitada, Arica/Chile

1998 Kauf der Firma Jürgen Langbein GmbH in Kaltenkirchen

2001 Grundsteinlegung des neuen Logistik-Zentrums

2003 Inbetriebnahme des neuen Logistik-Zentrums

2007 Eröffnung des „Rila erleben“ –Zentrums

2011 Eröffnung des Reisemobilstellplatzes „Hollenmühle“ 

2015 Erweiterung des Logistik-Zentrums 

2018 Veröffentlichung der Rila Fernkost-Studie

2018 Kauf der Firma Menzi GmbH in Versmold